Updates!

July 20th, 2014

i_heart_ny_banksy

I guess a lot can happen in 10 months. None of which I documented on this blog as I thought I would! My bad.

I think perhaps TOO many things happened. Too many thoughts and feelings ran through me, and the last thing I wanted to do was write them down and make them real. I guess I thought maybe if those thoughts and feelings stayed in my head that they wouldn’t be so bad, or that they wouldn’t be allowed to take over me. Obviously, that’s not how we work, and despite keeping things to myself and not sharing them on this blog for all to see, the last 10 months were, well, a lot.

No one died, I’m healthy, life is fine! There was just a lot of change. Changes that I brought on myself, changes that were inevitable, and some changes that you just can’t predict when so much is changing! Am I right? ;)

I now live in a cute little apartment with a lovely friend in NYC. I can’t even believe I can type that sentence and that it is true! The last time I posted I was living with my parents in Toronto going through the painful process of potentially moving to the US. How time flies….and yet, how slowly it went before I finally got here!

My hope is that in the next little while I will update this blog with moments of the journey I had to get here. My inspirations, my downfalls, my friends…everything that’s been in my little head for the last 10 months.

Here’s hoping things stay like this for the next little while and I can finally look back and reflect on my crazy year. It’s been a crazy one, but I want to make sure I can appreciate it and be thankful for all of it.

Stay tuned :)

 

September 28th, 2013

tumblr_ljjnds2rOT1qcfb0ko1_400

I stopped blogging for a year. Ooops.

I’d be lying if I said there was a good reason for it. I’d be lying if I said I even remembered why. However, I do have a vague memory of obsessively getting into Netflix….and then my life going down a slippery sloppy slope of late night binges on classic tv shows. After that, I don’t know what happened. The last year contained a plethora of highs and lows, tears and laughter, doubts and fears…and at the same time moments of intense clarity. There were births and deaths, family drama, vacations, health scares, victories, and on some occasions everything went as planned.

There were at least a dozen times I thought to restart this whole blogging situation. It had been fun. I had gotten a nice response from people and I had liked it. I also realized that I really love to write. Writing actually started taking up more and more of my time. I wrote a pilot. Then I rewrote it. Then I wrote a 2 pager for a teen interview show. After that I wrote a webseries. Then I had to get a new notebook because I had crammed so much writing and ideas into the first one. In the end, I realized none of that writing was going to help me earn a living in the immediate future. So, I snapped out of it and started to focus on a job that would. That was, I think, when all creativity drained from my body like money drains from my bank account. It wasn’t pretty.

However, in the last few months I have once again felt some creativity in my system and I guess now is as good a time as any to get back on the blogging bandwagon. I look forward to sharing with you, all 5 of you, the people, places and things that have been inspiring me as of late.

I hope the last year treated you all well. I promise to check in more often from now on :)

JULY 10th, 2012

It’s hard to believe I wrote my last update over 2 months ago. Oops. I would like to say it was because my life got SO busy with work and gigs and social engagements. However, I’ve always thought that honesty is the best policy, so let me be 100% honest with you all. I discovered ‘The West Wing’. Yes, I had never watched The West Wing and at some point in May I found the 1st season for $10 somewhere and I bought it. Cut to 2 months later and  I’ve finished 7 seasons of the series and my roommate is almost done as well. We were watching episodes like it was our job! Hence why I neglected this blog for a little while! My apologies. However, I have no regrets. I feel I am better for it. Everyone needs to experience the brilliance that is this show. I will most certainly be blogging about it soon.

To be fair, I have had a busy couple of months. Work, auditions, dreams built and then shattered, loved ones lost and friendships renewed. There were also amazing books read, movies watched and thoughts formed that confused and motivated me at the same time.

In the next few weeks I will try to update this blog with all the things that have influenced me in the last couple of months. Today I began with a post about Nora Ephron and Lena Dunham. I hope it inspires you in some way like these two ladies inspire me.

If you’re in Toronto I hope you enjoy this beautiful day and this gorgeous summer.

I begin…..

MAY 2nd, 2012

I hope April’s showers will bring May flowers. The end of April was a little gloomy and I was too busy to post as often as I would have liked. I hope in the next few weeks and can return to my usual frequent and varied posts!

This month I’m going to make an effort to take advantage of every day and opportunity. I hope I can inspire myself to keep writing and daydreaming, and in the process help others do the same.

I’ve seen some incredible documentaries recently that I will post about, and also have a ton of lists that I would eventually like to share. My journal is filling up with ideas. If there is anything you think I, or anyone else might like I’d love to hear about it!

Eagerly anticipating the sunny journey,

Erika

APR. 11th, 2012

Hello everyone!

I’m very excited to see how many people have been reading this blog, and to have so many visitors from all over the world! It really has been very rewarding for me to put so much creative energy into something I believe in. Thank you for stopping by and for believing in it to.

For the next little while I’m going to focus on writing about the various books I’ve been reading and loving. I’ve been wanting to do this for a while but there are so many the thought has been incredibly overwhelming! Writing it here will force me to get on with it!

Since this month is Poetry Month I thought it would be fitting tribute. So keep checking back because I will be trying to post as often as possible. Happy reading!

MAR. 26th, 2012

I return to my blog after a month of travelling in South America. Sounds exciting. To be fair, I travelled to the jungles of Ecuador (very cool), and then spent some time in Lima, Peru with my relatives that live there (very cool, yet totally normal)!

Regardless, this month of travel, play and very little work, gave me lots of time to think about my life, my passions, my dreams and my  purpose. Sounds exhausting now that I’m writing it down, but it was a wonderful time, and now I’m ready to get back to real life, start up with this blog and share some of my thoughts.

For the next week I want to commit to posting about organizations and people who I believe are making a difference and should be supported. I hope it encourages you to look more closely into what they are doing and what you can do to help.

Here it goes…..

FEB. 22nd, 2012

I finally announced to the world that this blog is up and running. I’ve heard such lovely things from people who have taken the time to look around and it’s all been very encouraging. I will try to update the site regularly and hope to bring a little daily inspiration to everyone’s day!

I encourage you to check out Susan Black’s site as well. She is the lovely creative woman who designed my header banner. It could not be more beautiful!

FEB. 13th, 2012

I have been busy learning how to use wordpress and transferring my posts from my tumblr account to my new wordpress page. It’s coming together nicely and I’m waiting for my header design to be ready!

Please check out my current posts and my new Welcome Message. More to come soon! I will update this page when the site is officially complete!

 

 

Leave a Reply

