The Intent To Live – A Must Read For Actors

I hesitated to write about this book just yet because I’m not completely finished reading it. However, I keep talking about it with all the actors I know and I just can’t wait to share it with everyone here.

Larry Moss is one of the most sought after acting coaches in the world and from what I’ve heard from mutual friends (I can’t even believe I can say that), he is also one of the most generous and kind souls out there. In fact, he shares a lot of personal stories and feelings in this book and it is pretty evident that he’s a special person.

I had read pieces of this book when I was in theatre school but for some reason never the whole thing. It turns out it was for the best. I don’t think I was ready for it back then. This book has landed in my lap at the perfect time. At a moment in time when I needed motivation and inspiration and that extra little bit of something to remind me of why I love acting and this business in the first place. It helps that in the last couple of months I’ve also worked with some teachers who have been incredibly supportive and encouraging and let me know that I was heading in the right direction. It’s funny how life works.

‘The Intent To Live’ is a masterclass taught by a master teacher and aimed at giving you all the tools you need to be a truthful and honest actor. However, for me, the most valuable part has been the influence of Moss’ passion and love for the art form and his desire to understand himself and those around him. I almost feel like we’re kindred spirits in a way. He says so much of what I’m thinking but can never articulate. Or maybe I just haven’t found the right person to share it with.

If you ever get an opportunity to take one of his classes or workshops I would jump at the chance. I have my fingers crossed that I will have that opportunity soon. You can sign up for his newsletter by checking out his website: larrymoss.org

Happy reading…and discovering.

Leave a Reply

