Three sites that will get you excited about being a girl…or woman…(or whichever you’re feeling like on any particular day)

This is what happens when I don’t have to go to work. I spend copious amounts of time online reading everything and anything that will entertain my ADD (I’ll never admit it) mind. I can’t just sleep in all day or watch countless hours of Breaking Bad so I can finally catch up! No. No, I have to fuel my restless brain and fill it up with the thoughts and ponderings of some of the most creative and inspiring minds on the internet. To be fair, I actually KNOW men and women who are incredibly bright and amazing….but they don’t have blogs. And they can’t always meet me at my favorite coffee shop. So, I’m left with finding my fix on the world wide web.

In the last few years there have been 3 websites that have never failed to amuse, educate and inspire me. They each satisfy my various moods and they each have a unique point of view. I’d be a jerk if I didn’t admit that they inspired me to start my little blog.

You need to check them out for yourself, but here is a little taste of what they each have to offer! In no particular order:

hello-giggles-logo

HelloGiggles is my go-to site when I want to smile. It’s a self-proclaimed positive online community for women, although men are always welcome. They cover a variety of topics like fashion, love, DYI, pop culture and friendship…but the special thing about them is that they’re alway positive. Even the reader comments couldn’t be more lovely. I consider myself to be a nice person but hellogiggles reminds me that I can always be nicer…and less cynical! The site was founded by  Zooey Deschanel, Molly McAleer and Sophia Rossi…and I would like to take this opportunity to thank them for the daily giggles.

Check out one of my recent favorite posts: Who doesn’t like a good Top 10 List?

326729_240625109306455_5946286_o-640x230Rookie is my guilty pleasure. No, I take that back. I’m not guilty about it at all. I’m just sorry it wasn’t around when I was a teenager. Rookie is filled with stories, lessons, art and playlists (my favorite), designed for teenage girls and created/edited by Tavi Gevinson. Tavi, a teen herself, has been doing this for a few years now and has the ability to be so truthful and candid in her young thoughts that she is able to relate to not only her peers, but anyone who is open to the memories of growing up and feeling a lot of feelings. She posts three times daily, after school, and has a really talented roster of contributors. I definitely suggest everyone to take a stroll down high school memory lane…

Here is a recent post that I absolutely went nuts over. For anyone who takes themselves too seriously. Good job!

logo_black_hires

Last but not least is BUST Magazine. Obviously this is a physical, actual, real life magazine that you can, and should, buy at the store, but I also love to check them out online. They call themselves ‘the magazine for women who want to get something off their chests’. I love the attitude. They are a magazine for women, by women, and cover every aspect of the female experience you could possibly imagine. They are fierce and funny and never shy away from a risky topic. If you want to feel empowered this is a must read.

This for anyone having a quarter life freak out. Read this and feel better about all of it.

2 thoughts on “Three sites that will get you excited about being a girl…or woman…(or whichever you’re feeling like on any particular day)

Leave a Reply

