I Miss You

yo mik y papá

17 years ago today I lost one of my favorite people in the world. My uncle, David. The life of the party. The flawed, funny, loud and loyal rock of our family. I’ve spent a good portion of today, like I do every October 2nd, thinking of him. I think of him every day, actually. Our whole family does. My cousin, his daughter, posted a picture of him today on Facebook and our family has had a nice time recalling old memories and expressing how much we miss him.

Misc 056

As I started to write this post it somehow became a moment to moment recount of what happened to me, to us, when we found out he had died. I quickly deleted everything and realized that it wasn’t really a story I wanted to, or needed to tell. I simply wanted to honour him here, and have a little something to share with my family as we spend the day remembering him. I have no doubt that he watches over all of us and I think he would get a kick out of being written about on a blog. He would have loved it, in fact. He liked attention and he wouldn’t deny it if he was still here!

However, I will say this. Losing someone suddenly and tragically at a young age was one of the most informing moments of my life. I know that all of us, especially the ‘kids’ in our family, somehow changed after it happened. In some ways it made us irrationally afraid of certain things, it made us cynical about life, and it made us question everything. But, It also brought us all closer together. For me, it made me want to pursue my passions and desires more than ever. I know that’s what he would be doing if he was still here, and I know it’s what he would want for all of us. Tio, this is for you.

Misc 085

Los quiero muchooooooo!

Leave a Reply

